Lumis 3D 2021.1

Sharing via Private Links

Note

You must be a writer or an administrator in a space to enable public links for its contents.

A private link is a web address that you can give to anyone in a domain to allow them to view and edit (writer role at least) content available on Lumis 3D. A person who receives a private link has to log in to Lumis 3D to view the shared content.

A file for which the private link is active is shown with a image30.png logo.

Sharing via public links is a two-step process:

  1. First, activate the public link for the content you want to share.

  2. Then, provide the public link address to the person you want to share the content with.

When you deactivate a private link, the link address is permanently deleted. This means that if you share a link address with someone, then deactivate the file's private link, their link address will no longer work.

If you plan to share the link again, just reactivate it in the Link sharing window.

Tip

How to: Share a file using a private link

Note

You must be a writer or an administrator in a space to enable public links for its contents.

  1. Select the file you want to share by left-clicking on it.

  2. This displays the drop-down menu with options. Click on the image28.png Share button.

  3. The Link sharing window will open. At the bottom of this window, click on the slider next to Private link to activate the private link.

    image75.png
  4. The address of the private link is displayed in the text field. You can copy it to the clipboard using the image74.png button and paste it into another document, such as an email.

  5. When you have finished modifying the sharing settings, click the Close button to return to the list of files.

Tip

How to: Stop sharing a file with a private link

Note

You must be a writer or an administrator in a space to enable public links for its contents.

  1. Select the file you want to unshare by left clicking on it.

  2. This displays the drop-down menu with options. Click on the image28.png Share button.

  3. The Link sharing window will open. At the bottom of this window, click on the slider next to Private link to deactivate the private link.

  4. When you have finished modifying the sharing settings, click the Close button to return to the list of files.